Namibia: Our route and list of accommodation

Namibia has surely surprised me and made my jaw drop a few times. And made me close my eyes at some point as well. To me it’s always been that desert country across the border with the wildlife and a population only 4% of that of South Africa. A place where my farther and uncle served in the army and my husband goes hunting every now and then. How wrong was I! For the first time I understand why my dad has been dreaming of a Namibian holiday for as long as I can remember. Namibia touches you in a way that you can’t explain in words. And it makes you feel that you need to come back for more.

DSCN9740_Fotor
Giraffes at a waterhole in Etosha National Park.

The approach we took was to cruise by the south and rather spend more time in the north. The plan is to do a proper tour of the south in a few years. I must admit it was slightly ambitious, but it was not as exhausting as you would expect when you plan on driving 10 000 km in 3 weeks. I have mapped out the route of our Namibian trip below (with the help of Google Maps). Just to give you an overview of how slightly crazy our trip was. Unfortunately, Google Maps does not have the 4×4 tracks/roads on of the Kaokoland, so the north west part of the map is not accurate.

DSCN8441_Fotor
A view over Marienfluss from the Van Zyls Pass lookout point.

Below is also a list of all the lodges and campsites that we stayed at. Yes, we camped for 3 weeks straight. It really is not that bad, if you have a rooftop tent. Camping is huge in Namibia. You see rented 4×4’s with one or two rooftop tents everywhere. You’re not part of the ‘cool gang’ if you don’t have one. We especially enjoyed the rooftop tent because it literally takes 5 minutes to open or close. Which is convenient as there was 3 nights that we arrived after 8pm at our campsite. And we didn’t even take our duvet out of it. In South Africa the current cool thing is those 4×4 trailers that just folds open and everything pulls out. They are a slight risk if you plan on going into Kaokoland and over Van Zyls Pass. It is not undo-able and a lot of people has done it. But it is easier without it. Especially if your tourgroup consists of 1 vehicle like ours did. There is always a risk of getting stuck in a riverbed in Kaokoland and there was a trailer left behind on Van Zyls Pass that we came across. And we did book everything in advance except for the 4 nights we spent in the ‘wild’ Kaokoland. Some places only had 3 or 4 campsites, so I didn’t want to take the chance to arrive at the recommended spots and be told ‘Sorry, we’re full!

The list of accommodation (with links to their respective websites):

Keep an eye out for all my Namibian posts to follow in the coming months! I will be maintaining this list as my blog posts are published.

Visited: April 2017

Leave a Reply

